My All Time Favorite Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Pumpkin Bread

Tomorrow my daughter’s class is having a Fall Gathering at a local park. We’re serving hot apple cider, coffee, various cookies, caramel apples and my favorite pumpkin recipe; Pumpkin Bread. I am still on the hunt for a delicious milk free caramel apple, and I haven’t perfected the recipe yet. Dairy Free Caramel Apples have to be made at home if you or your child has a milk allergy, as all the store brands I have seen contain milk (and several also contain nuts) If any of you have any ideas to share about how to get the consistency of caramel apples just right, I’d love hear them!

In the meantime, here is the pumpkin bread I am serving tomorrow. It is truly decadent and super easy to make. The recipe makes two loaves; serve one loaf now and freeze the other. It is also a perfect bread to give away to friends, neighbors or teachers.

DAIRY, EGG AND NUT FREE PUMPKIN BREAD

2/3 c. dairy free shortening

2 1/2 c. sugar

4 T. Water

1 15 oz. can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)

1/4 c. orange juice

3 c. all purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease two 8 inch loaf pans with dairy free cooking spray.

In a mixer fitted with the paddle attachement, cream the shortening and sugar until fluffy. Add 4 T. Water and mix until combined. Add pumpkin puree and orange juice and mix well.

In a medium bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg using a wire whisk. Add dry ingredients to pumpkin mixture and mix on low until combined, scraping down sides as needed. Pour into prepared loaf pans and bake one hour or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Let cool thoroughly on a wire rack.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “My All Time Favorite Dairy, Egg and Nut Free Pumpkin Bread

  1. That bread looks yummy. I have a son with allergies, I blog at http://www.nutfreeliving.blogspot.com.

Leave a comment